2 strikes and you are OUT! | Best Buy review from Mohegan Lake, New York

On 6/17 I purchased a new refrigerator for my 86 year old mom. The fridge has an automatic ice maker, which we do not currently have, so have no water line to the fridge. The salesman says for $135 best buy will deliver the fridge with a certified plumber who will install a waterline. Amazing!! We explained that delivery had to be on a Saturday and the first available date is 7/1. As is the practice of Best Buy, they call 24-48 hours in advance of the delivery to confirm. I quickly realized they were calling my home, but the fridge was being delivered to my moms house 80 miles away. I called and explained they needed to change the phone number to my cell or my moms house. This was NOT possible as the delivery date would then change. They assured me they highlighted to call my cell. On the day of delivery I called to make sure the driver was aware to call my cell, again assured that was on the order. Was promised a call 30 minutes before delivery, which NEVER happened. After the time window had expired I called again to find out, they called my home 4 times. Marked the file nobody home and moved on. If I didn't call 4 times to confirm the right number, I would have understood. Automatically the delivery is now rescheduled for the next Saturday. I call to confirm that the phone number has been updated, again assured all is correct. Was advised by the manager to call the store day before delivery and confirm the new phone number has been updated. I do that and am told to call the head of the grek squad to make sure ticket was sent. All that is done, I am told to call the store Saturday morning at 8am to make sure number updated. Friday night get call confirming delivery, call was on my cell!! I confirm that the driver will also call my cell. Next morning I dial 2021 into the store manager at 8am to confirm. They again look and confirm right phone number. Two hours into the delivery time window I call store manager and say I have heard nothing, she replies all is on the truck and nothing she can do until time has passed. Three hours 45 minutes into delivery window, call store manager to ask now what, she instructs me to call back If I don't hear anything by 4 hours window. Heard NOTHING call back store manager who keeps me on hold for 15 minutes to come back and say I will receive a call in 10 minutes. That call NEVER came, called back manager who would not take my call. At no time did I receive a call that they were NOT delivering. I received an email late afternoon with a NEW delivery date & time. That night I received a call from the delivery service insisting that I purchased the fridge from Home Depot. That's when I lost it. I lost two 4 hour windows of time waiting for a delivery that never happened. No one was willing to help! I called corporate headquarters twice to explain my issue, both time left on hold for over 20 minutes. I would NEVER buy anything from Best Buy again. Stay away!!
View full review
Review
#1073319 Review #1073319 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Management
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$1100
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
Tags
  • Best Buy Delivery
1.0
Details
On February 11, 2017 walked into Best Buy store#345, Huntington Station and was looking for a specific TV that was $999.99. A sales consultant by the name of Justin Milione greeted us and showed us where to find the TV. He then proceeded to tell us that a better TV...
View full review
2 comments
Anonymous
#1297495

I guess you're right... I am an honest person and respect the same in return.

View more comments
Review
#1014362 Review #1014362 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Best Buy Sales Representative
Cons
  • That i was lied to by a sales consultant just to make a sale
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Price reduction

Liars, Took my money and did not deliver. | Best Buy review from Valley Stream, New York

1.5
Details
I purchased a Panasonic GH5 paid cash $2200.00, paid for over night delivery$25. Three days later I never got it...Went back to the store in Valley Stream NY. Manager said it left today? He never gave the reason why it never was shipped out. I needed the camera for a shoot in LA my flight was for the following morning...Now im stuck with out the Camera i was hired to use. But do they care? Never again will i step foot in Best Buy...BH from now on. The Sale person just wanted my money period...Promised something that he knew wouldn't happen...Just be honest with the customers...Totally unprofessional.
View full review
Review
#1040692 Review #1040692 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Best Buy Shipping Service
Reason of review
Problem with delivery
Loss
$1500
Preferred solution
My client is DJWhookid i was hired to shoot a video...My name is Renny Hurst is a videographer
3.4
Details
Yesterday 1/26/17 my husband went to Best buy sore #1455 and even thou he had the required e-mail notice and receipt in hand he was refused the item purchased. The store manager stated I was to be there to pickup because I was the name on the purchase order. Never at...
View full review
6 comments
Andrea
#1277457

So if a stranger had hacked your email and picked up your item with the email and receipt, you would have been ok with that? There is a reason the purchaser has to be the one to pick up online orders.

THIS is why. The website also gives you the option to ADD ALTERNATE PICK UP PERSON when you pay.

View more comments
Review
#998282 Review #998282 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Best Buy Customer Care
Cons
  • Headquarters have poor policy for pickup of merchandise
  • Customer service and delivery
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Totally screwed | Best Buy review from Buffalo, New York

2.0
Details
I made the big mistake of believing that buying from best Buys and getting the "geek squad" protection was enough. I was not told that I had a very short time to TEST and evaluate my product. I put the TV away for use when I finished a room,mounted it on the wall to find out it was FUBAR. In the store they told me the screen was cracked and that since I waited too long = I was getting NOTHING for the TV that I paid well over a few hundred for. AND just finished spending over 3800.00 in that store. IF you are tempted to buy from them ,TEST ANYTHING prior to leaving the store. No matter how hard it might be for them to open and test it. I will not spend another dime there,and I was planning to buy another 500.00 dollars in that store just today.
View full review
Review
#1010173 Review #1010173 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Store policy
Reason of review
Damaged or defective
Loss
$300
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

Best Buy pricing run around

1.5
Details
About a week ago I saw a laptop advertised in your stores Lenovo Yoga 710 15" (Mfg# 80V50000US). It was sale priced at $750 and your website showed open-box deals for approximately $650. 3 different stores near me supposedly had them in stock. I drove to the first and they said they didn't have it do i drove to the next and, they too, said they were out of stock of the open-box despite the website showing that "fewer than 3" were available. The next day I drove to the third store and although they did have an open box they said that the sale was over. I tried to explain my situation but they refused to give me the sale price. At that time the price rose to $850 for new and approximately $780 for the open box. A few days later I came back and showed them the exact same laptop from lenovo.com who was also running a sale selling the new machine for $750. They offered to match the price of the new unit but not the open box. Ironically this meant that they were willing to sell me the new unit for $30 less than the open-box. Go figure, right? In all i wasted hours driving from store to store only to come up empty every time. With your constant price fluctuations, random sales and inaccurate website data I am again reminded why I purchase most of my things from strictly online retailers. I realize that you do this to maximize your profits but in the past several years I've purchased 4 machines from newegg and tigerdirect as well as dozens of other products including a 50" TV from ebay and amazon and have never had to deal with this sort of price haggling or guessing what they had in stock nonsense.
View full review
Review
#996266 Review #996266 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Lenovo Yoga 710 Laptop
Reason of review
Pricing issue

NEVER BUY FROM BEST BUY BRONX NEW YORK #1172

2.2
Details

Update by user Aug 30, 2016

UPDATE: I was emailing everyone I could at BB for a resolution. Finally I received a response from a Ms Berry (Account resolution dept) because I also emailed the CEO.

He must of forwarded my complaint. Ms. Berry had the nerve to offer me a so called settlement... Ready for this one????

$150 off any brand new television or $200 off of any open boxed-television. Why on God's green earth would I even accept that offer? It BB felt so adamant about MY son and husband ADMITTING to PYHSICAL DAMAGE BY US, why offer anything? What fool would accept that offer..(Probably someone that actually broke the television)..Not ME AT ALL so I took BB to small claims court on August 18, 2016.

They never showed up. I still had to present my case and the arbitrator which was found in MY FAVOR. The only problem is trying to collect my judgment. I just received my "Letter of judgment against BB".

I am now going through the channels to collect my funds. I even reported them to the BBB and some so called Account-resolution manager (Ms Berry) replied that she offered me a solution. She has no idea that as of today that I have a judgment. I am going to scan that judgment and email it to her.

They cannot push the working consumer around at all!! My suggestion is to take them to small claims for their injustices. Don't sit there and allow them to treat you like that.

It may be a hassle, but now it is the principal. Thank you all for reading my post!!

Original review posted by user Jul 26, 2016

My husband purchased a 55' Samsung curved tv from BB on July 12, 2016 at 2:21pm ($1056). He was so happy because it was a big screen. He got the TV home and set it up and noticed that it had a crack in the TV. He was disappointed so he immediately took the TV back to store #1172 at 4:45pm SAME DAY!!!!! He advised the sales rep that the tv was damaged and the s/r said that he must of dropped the tv and broke it and they are not responsible????? My husband requested the "so called" manager "Kirk" came out very annoyed and actually agreed with the s/r? What type of world are we living in??? He was very nasty and condescending to my husband and actually dismissed him. My husband was infuriated so he just left the tv in the store and left. My husband called me and informed me of the situation, I immediately went to BB to speak to the manager. Once I got there I spoke with some other "so called" managers and explained the situation to them. They told me to wait a minute and then they called the same manager "Kirk" to the scene. Kirk again was annoyed and said that the situation was already handled. I informed him that it wasn't handled. After the debating with the back and forth, he told me that I had to deal with Samsung. I wasn't happy, but I decided to contact Samsung. I was on hold for a rep for over 20 minutes, but I finally got through and was told that they would send a "Samsung authorized dealer" to fix the tv FREE OF CHARGE. I wasn't happy but at least satisfied that I would be able to utilize the tv that was purchased. The authorized dealer called me to set up an appt. and I was told that the part would be $500 and the labor was $210 and I WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR THAT!!!! ($710) That would mean that I paid ($1700+) I was speechless, I just said thank you and hung up. The following day I contacted "Debbie at BB" customer relations.. we spoke at length and she gave me her direct extension (866-650-7110)x 60098 and she claimed she would look into this matter further. I have never heard from Debbie again. (Some customer relations huh), every time I contact her I get her voicemail and I have left numerous messages and no call back. I have been a BB consumer for over a decade. I have brought TV to telephones, surround systems and play stations game consoles for my family. I am appalled on how their treatment was. When I contacted SAMSUNG again to inquire on why they lied to me about the repair, I was told that I was in warranty but they consider it physical damage. When I talked with the manager at Samsung (Elizabeth), she advised me that BB should of handled it and they are not being accountable. Neither is Samsung. How can it be physical damage when the TV was broken when we installed it? How do I know that it wasn't damaged from Samsung's warehouse to BB or when BB movers unloaded it into their store? How can they prove that it was us? I was even IN THE RETURN/EXCHANGE PERIOD..The same day!!! They still refused. DONT EVER PURCHASE FROM BEST BUY AGAIN. I might not ever purchase any more Samsung products either. All I wanted was an exchange for a broken TV on THEIR end. I want what we paid for. We didn't even get to WATCH the tv at ALL. I forgot to mention that my husband purchased the tv with cash instead of a credit card. Please believe me if it had been on our credit card, the charge would be disputed and we WOULD HAVE OUR MONEY BACK!! I think that they are tying to keep it because it was cash. I should of never purchased that tv from "uptown places" If I would of purchased the tv "downtown" in the "Wall street area" where I worked, this would of NEVER happened. I have no choice but to seek legal action!!
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1300301

Just want to say to everyone TAKE THEM TO COURT IT WORKS!!!!!!! I finally received my check from BB for the broken TV.

I will never shop there again and has informed all my friends and family not to either. Court Works!!! I have proven so.

They apologized to me but the $950 has cleared in my checking account. I am going to PC Richards for my new TV!

Review
#889053 Review #889053 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Samsung Electronics Un55ju6700fxza Tv
Cons
  • Mangagment
  • Horrible customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$1056
Preferred solution
I want BB to deliver a brand new 55' curved tv to my home. This treatment is unacceptable
Tags
  • humiliating
  • Bronx Ny Store 1172

Never in my life had I felt so cheated and mistreated by a company. | Best Buy review from Bronx, New York

1.9
Details
Do yourself a favor and never buy a product from Best Buy again, as they will sell you a damaged product and will not grant their advertised return and exchange policy. I bought a 32” Samsung TV for my mom as a gift at a Best Buy on September 4th 2016. On September 8th, I go over my mom’s house to connect the TV for her. Upon connecting the TV, I noticed the screen has white splashes, as it appears when the screen is internally damaged. I didn’t panic too much since the sales representative at Best Buy says the TV has a 15-day warranty. I checked Bestbuy.com and even called customer service to make sure it was 15 days. On September 11th, I go to Best Buy (402 E Fordham Rd Bronx, NY 10458) confident that they would exchange this defective TV since it has only been 7 days since the purchase and it’s still within their 15 day return and exchange policy. The not so friendly customer service representative promptly assisted me. She opens the box and connects the TV to see the white splashes I’ve described. The customer representative tells us they cannot exchange the TV as it looks like we have dropped it. Keep in mind the box or the TV itself doesn’t show any dents, scratches or signs that it has been dropped or in contact with any surface. It still even has the plastic attached to the TV. Amazed at this outcome, we ask to talk to the manager. The assistant manager comes over and quickly agrees with the customer service representative in that it MUST have been that the TV has been dropped and that this Best Buy store has a 4-day return and exchange policy on damage TVs. I found this very strange as the sales representative and everywhere on Best Buy stores and website shows a 15 day return and exchange policy. I asked to please show me in writing where does it say that there’s a 4-day return policy, which of course they failed to show me since this is a made-up policy by this particular store. The assistant manager even tells me that he can clearly see and feel that the screen is cracked even while having the TV off, suggesting that there is exterior physical damage to the screen. I ask please, show me the physical crack on the TV. He confidently checks the TV but fails to find any physical exterior physical damage on the screen or anywhere on the TV. The customer service representative also checks and fails to find any exterior physical damage. The assistant manager puts the TV back on the box and tells me there’s nothing he can do about it and he will not receive the damaged TV Best Buy sold us. He even tells me that they could get in trouble for accepting the TV. Really, you would get in trouble for granting the 15-day return and exchange the company you work for advertise. At this point, my only thought is to call Best Buy’s customer service line. My mom calls and it is told again that we are still within the 15-day return and exchange period. We put the assistant manager on the phone and he explains the issue as the screen being “cracked”, even after failing to find any physical crack or damage on the screen or TV. The customer service guy tells him that he needs to honor the 15-day return and exchange period, but the assistant manager continues to say their store has a 4-day policy. Since when, does each individual Best Buy store have their own policy? Lastly, he tells us he is sorry and even sympathizes with us but there’s nothing he can do. In conclusion, Best Buy sells me a TV that I buy for my mom with my hard earned money, I go home, open the box a few days later to find out it doesn’t work and now I can’t even get it exchanged. Basically I lost my money. But is not the money that bothers me. Is the way a big company such as Best Buy cheats their customers. How can a company like this be in business? At this point I just want to inform other people of their practices to avoid this happening to someone else. Hopefully New York City Department of Consumer Affairs could help us with this situation.
View full review
1 comment
Anonymous
#1250695

I had the exact same issue. The TV was working fine and suddenly I had big black blob on the screen.

I called the geek squad and they said its damaged, and the technician tells me I dont see any physical damage and he is not sure how the screen is cracked internally. He tells me to go to the local store and ask if they can process return and exchange.

I have been calling customer service and going to various stores, and no one seems to help. How did you resolve the issue or did you get your money back?

Review
#916966 Review #916966 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Product
Samsung Electronics Tv
Reason of review
Return, Exchange or Cancellation Policy

NEVER AGAIN UNLESS IN STOCK AND ASSEMBLED | Best Buy review from Endicott, New York

1.8
Details
I ordered a TV Console on line with the Geek Squad assembly to be done in my home. I received an email confirmation that the TV console was shipped and that I would be hearing from Customer Service for scheduling the assembly. I received the email the following day and scheduled the in home assembly. I never received a confirmation email so I called the number that was given. As I feared they had no record of my confirmation number - after several minutes the customer rep found that Victoria (the first call center attendant I spoke with) entered the wrong information - wrong email address and wrong address for installation - Needless to say I was first of all upset that my information was now in the hands of someone other than myself and that I was no longer able to have the assembly done as I had taken the time off of work. In speaking with Ramona I was told that I had 2 options - 1 reschedule or 2 - see if they can "squeeze" me in another day. After I explained this was an inconvenience in my schedule and I did not make the error - this was not acceptable. Unfortunately I was unable to assure that I would have soon arrive at my home as originally scheduled. Appt for 2 weeks was then offered which I adamantly opposed to. Needless to say - this was aggravating but the fact that my information - credit card information - is now in the hands of someone other myself is most upsetting. When asked for Corporate phone number was told they don't have one! Really??? Needless to say bad experience is transmitted to others far more than a good and since the close of my conversation today I have told multiple people, emailed several and have discontinued several of my business accounts that I had through Best Buy.
View full review
Review
#918631 Review #918631 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Best Buy Customer Care
Cons
  • Customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$150
Preferred solution
Compensated for the time I lost from work as I had to take additional time to reschedule for another date for assembly

Very unprofessional | Best Buy review from New York, New York

2.4
Details
I bought a lot of my things here, and I loved Best buy. It is my anniversary tomorrow and I order a phone for my boyfriend 2 weeks ago, just to make sure it arrives on time. The first phone which arrived was working for 1 hour and died. I returned it to store, wanted to buy the replacement they told me to order it online. Second phone arrived today seal was broken and piece of charger missing from the box. I called customer service and they were really polite, but absolutely did not care about understanding the customer. First of all there was no discount offered at all (as a part of apology by customer service) I asked to talk to the manager and he/she did not want to come to the phone. The representative kept apologizing (it was not the guys fault anyway) and he was really polite, but his hands were tied, and even when I said please tell the manager they will lose the customer and they destroyed my anniversary, there must be some kind of policy for all this mess.. nothing. Not only that you are uncool, but you are really unprofessional. Just a small comparison, Amazon was 1 day late with the delivery (not 14 days, 1 day!) and they gave me 50% discount for being a loyal customer.
View full review
Review
#926220 Review #926220 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Poor customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$413
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution